Reconcile Version (Data Management)

reconcile a version against a parent version in its lineage.

Reconcile merges all modifications between the current edit version and a target version. Any differences between the features in the target version and the features in the edit version are applied to the edit version. Differences can consist of newly inserted, deleted, or updated features. The reconcile process detects these differences and discovers any conflicts. Reconciling happens before posting a version to a target version. A target version is any version in the direct ancestry of the version, such as the parent version or the default version.


Usage tips

Syntax

ReconcileVersion_management (in_workspace, version_name, target_name, conflict_definition, conflict_resolution, acquire_locks, abort_if_conflicts, post)
Parameter Explanation Datatype
Input Workspace (Required)

The ArcSDE geodatabase containing the reconcilable version. The default is to use the workspace defined in the environment.

Workspace
Version Name (Required)

Name of version to be reconciled.

String
Target Version (Required)

Name of any version in the direct ancestry of the version, such as the parent version or the default version.

String
Conflict Definition (Optional)

Describes the conditions required for a conflict to occur:

  • BY_OBJECT—Any changes to the same object in the parent and child versions will conflict during reconcile. This is the default.

  • BY_ATTRIBUTE—sdsdChanges to the same attribute of the same object in the parent and child versions will be an update-update conflict during reconcile. Changes to different attributes will not be an update-update conflict during reconcile.

String
Conflict Resolution (Optional)

Describes the behavior if a conflict is detected:

  • FAVOR_TARGET_VERSION—For all conflicts, resolve in favor of the target version. This is the default.

  • FAVOR_EDIT_VERSION—For all conflicts, resolve in favor of the edit version.

String
Acquire locks during reconcile (Optional)

Determines whether feature locks will be aquired.

  • LOCK_AQUIRED—Aquires locks when there is no intention of posting the edit session. This is the default.

  • NO_LOCK_AQUIRED—No locks are aquired and the edit session will be posted to the target version.

Boolean
Abort if conflicts (Optional)

Determine if the reconcile process should be aborted if conflicts are found between the target version and the edit version.

  • NO_ABORT—Do not abort the reconcile if conflicts are found. This is the default.

  • ABORT_CONFLICTS—Abort the reconcile if conflicts are found.

Boolean
Post version after reconcile (Optional)

Posts the current edit session to the reconciled target version.

  • NO_POST—Current edits will not be posted. This is the default.

  • POST—Current edits will be posted.

Boolean
Data types for geoprocessing tool parameters

Script Example

import arcgisscripting
gp = arcgisscripting.create()

gp.reconcileversion( "Database Connections\Connection to workspace.sde", "v1_vegetation", "DEFAULT")

See Also

  • Alter Version (Data Management)
  • Create Version (Data Management)
  • Delete Version (Data Management)
  • Register as Versioned (Data Management)
  • Unregister as Versioned (Data Management)