Unregister as Versioned (Data Management)

Unregisters an ArcSDE dataset as version in ArcCatalog.

When unregistering a dataset or feature class as versioned in ArcCatalog, a warning may appear informing you that outstanding edits still remain in existing versions. Unregistering the class as versioned will remove all the edits. To preserve the edits, you must compress the database before unregistering the dataset.


Usage tips

Syntax

UnregisterAsVersioned_management (in_dataset, keep_edit, compress_default)
Parameter Explanation Datatype
Input Dataset (Required)

Name of the ArcSDE dataset to be unregistered as versioned.

Table View | Feature Dataset
Keep Edits (Required)

Specifies whether edits made of the version should be maintained.

  • KEEP_EDIT—Keep the edits. This is the default.
  • NO_KEEP_EDIT—Do not keep the edits.

Boolean
Compress all edits in the Default version into the base table (Optional)

Determines whether edits will be compressed and unused data will be removed.

  • NO_COMPRESS_DEFAULT—Edits are not compressed. This is the default.

  • COMPRESS_DEFAULT—Edits are compressed.

Boolean
Data types for geoprocessing tool parameters

Script Example

import arcgisscripting
gp = arcgisscripting.create()

gp.workspace = "Database Connections\Connection to workspace.sde"
gp.toolbox = "management"
gp.unregisterasversioned("v1_vegetation")

See Also

  • Alter Version (Data Management)
  • Create Version (Data Management)
  • Delete Version (Data Management)
  • Reconcile Version (Data Management)
  • Register as Versioned (Data Management)